…and we’re back.

whelp, my beloved mac that i’ve had since 2005 has decided to cooperate, so i’m here! i’m here! i really need to get a new computer (mine has been on its last legs for ages), but i can’t bring myself to spend $1000, especially when a) i’m moving in two weeks and would rather spend money on some new things for the place, and b) i’m on my own work computer allllll the livelong day. dilemma alert! 

my second weight watchers weigh in went really well — despite the beer and the extra eats and the no working out (other than walking and biking everywhere), i am down another 2.4 lbs! that’s a total of 7.8 lbs in two weeks… i’m very surprised, because i feel like i’ve been eating so much of what i want. it’s refreshing, for me, to not count ratios or calories. it’s also an added plus that i like more natural, less processed food, because that’s what weight watchers “advises.” this time around, my eating style is so different (read: no dannon light n fit, no sugar free jelly, no low carb bread), that i am approaching this “lifestyle” differently, and noticing how unrestrictive it is. here’s to my continued success! (i’m proud of myself) 

NEWAYZ. 

it’s 8:30 am, i’m listening to the new broken social scene album, and staring at pictures of yogurt from yesterday. wouldn’t want to be doing anything else. breakfast was delicious — 1 serving fage 0%, strawburries, and 3/4 c. kashi golean. i LOVE this cereal, because it’s crunchy. i hate hate hate when my cereal gets soggy, it’s the reason i don’t enjoy it in milk. 

das a lot of dairy.

lunch was good, but gone in .32 seconds flat, and didn’t really fill me up. a la tortilla wrap with a laughing cow wedge, 1/4 the creamiest avocado i’ve ever picked out at the store, tomato and some whole foods sliced deli turkey along with a sliced orange pepper. green peppers are my favorite (and the cheapest!), but when i went to the store on sunday, they were all out of everything except a few orange peppers. weird, no?  

well this wasn't filling.

my snack was in three parts… i was feeling noshy because lunch wasn’t satisfying, so i dug into my snack (part 1) around 4, way earlier than normal. this nectarine was the picture of perfection – i think they are my favorite fruit! i can’t eat peaches because the fuzz faREAKS me out, always has, always will. when i was a kid, my grandpa thought that was hilarious.  

mmm, summer.

part 2 was my favorite snackypants, just can’t beat a babybel light.  

zee best cheese. clearly i am not a cheese snob.

for part 3, i really wanted my 100 calorie popcorn, but i burned it. at work. so the whole floor smelled. in my defense, i did hit the popcorn button and took it out early, but it still reeked! i hid in the bathroom, and no i am not kidding. it was 5:30 at this point, and i had a 7pm yoga class, so i decided i should eat something… enter emergency snack drawer:  

i think this was too fiber-y for my own good.

i really liked this! it was filling, and after all three of my snacks i was a little too full… but i trekked to yoga and let it settle. my vinyasa class was at stroga , where i bought a groupon. i am not a yogi by any means, but am looking to expand my workout horizons, and also am looking to settle my mind a little — this class was hard! headstands, pigeons, whatevers….but i liked it. the studio is gorgeous, like a converted mansion. the walls are powder blue, the ceilings are appliqued and painted white, there are glamorous chandeliers and huge bay windows that let in a lot of light. it was very calming, and it felt wonderful to stretch my body as i’ve been really sore from my workouts (thanks, gina!) i was by far the worst in the class, but didn’t really care and was focused on my own practice….which was hard to do as a man placed his mat THREE INCHES from mine, and instead of focusing my breath, i was focusing on not touching him as i swandived or warriored or something like that. kind of ruined the class for me. and he worked there! he should have known to not do that! oh, yoga etiquette. 

after the class, i met my friend leah for some dinner at sweetgreen, where we picked it up and quickly jetted back to her apartment to watch TOP CHEF DC! i got the santorini, and am convinced it’s the most delicious salad in the world. i went light on the feta and swapped out the dressing for some simple lemon and olive oil, and it was just delectable. it’s my favorite place to quickly grab dinner in dc, everything is so fresh and the environment is just lovely. wow, i sound like a walking ad, but it’s true.

i am beyond excited for this season – i want to see how they integrate dc into the show! a lot of my friends have been to the gym with padma, and my other friend works at the hotel they were staying at as an event planner and has seen/met all of them! i feel personally attached to it, is that weird? 

this post is long enough, but vateva! top chef is definitely my favorite reality show… i don’t watch others, really. what’s your favorite reality show? c’mon, i know you have guilty pleasures…the bachelor anyone? rock of love? don’t be shy!

3 responses to “…and we’re back.

  1. For some reason, my grocery store is always out of everything, aside from orange peppers. I guess people don’t like them!

    I have to admit that I am so in love with the Real Housewives of New Jersey. I could watch it all day!

  2. holla for losing weight AND drinking beer! i wish people could see that there IS a balance. however, the pretzel M&Ms, two cookies and chocolate chips i’ve had today do NOT constitute balance. defo going to be a big ol’ salad for me for dinner :)

    happy weekend!!!

  3. UGH, sorry about your computer. Since starting my freshman year of college, I’ve gone through THREE macbooks! Ridic, no?! The first was killed by “water damage,” the second my host sister broke while I was studying abroad, and the third (current) has bits of plastic broken all over it. BAD.

    I actually don’t really like reality TV… I enjoy the fantasy of tv dramas!

Leave a Reply

