phew.

well, there’s the biggest sigh of relief in the world. the landlord drama is settled, and my world is now back to rainbows and butterflies. we had a long phone conversation, and i found that if i was calm and rational, she responded well. though i was very upset (and so was she), only one of us was combative (and it wasn’t me!), and i got what i wanted in the end. good life lesson, no? 

with the drama over, my appetite came back. party in the usa! breakfast brought the return of all things good: greek yogurt. i eat fage 0% because it’s cheaper than both oikos (which i’ve had once and loved) and chobani, and for no other reason.  

beauty shot!

1 serving chobani, 1/3 c. oats, frozen berries and cinnamon accompanied 2 big cups of coffee with soymilk. i guess i’m really into caffeine these days.  

after a morning of phone conversations, relief and getting mah work on, i had a very green lunch! still using up those three grilled chicken breasts i cooked on monday night – MAN, that’s a lot of chicken. this was an herb salad with red onion, tomato, 1/4 avocado, 3.5 ounces rosemary lemon chicken. this was filling, and took me a while to eat, but felt good to eat something f-f-f-fresh!   

i guess i'm pretty into closeups today.

 i’ve found that i’ve been craving something sweet after lunch, and have been having a waterbottle full of crystal lite that has been sitting in my desk since october.  it’s not that i won’t eat sweets, it’s that i’m entirely not hungry after such a satisfying lunch and just need a little somethin’ somethin’. plus, i get another bottle of water in! bathroom, here i come.  snacktime was my new favorite food: rice cakes. i don’t know what it is about them, but mother’s brand butter flavored ricecakes (35 calories each) are just delectably salty, especially with a laughing cow wedge smeared on top. i’m a salt girl, so these are right up my alley. combine that with crunchy green beans, and you’ve got a filling and healthy snackie.  

so i'm fairly certain i'm going to turn into a rice cake.

 post work, i was planning on going to the gym, but just didn’t want to. i have have have to get my workout mojo back! my eating is spot on and i’m feeling great, but the wedding is in 4 months and i gotta get my tone on! plus, i feel better when i workout regularly. where, oh where has my gym mojo gone? oh where, oh where can it beeeeee? instead of going to the gym, i went to bed bath and beyond to pick up some cleaning supplies – i’m going to leave my house so sparkling my landlord isn’t going to know what to do with herself!  for dinner, i was in the mood for something quick, satisfying and tasty to fuel me up for my marathon clean… so along with the real housewives of new jersey (danielle is actually a crazy person), i whipped up a spicy asian seitan wrap using this sauce:  

spicy nicey.

 i measured out a serving of seitan and browned it in a pan while i was steaming some green beans and broccoli. once both were done, i added all my ingredients together and added 1/2 tbsp. of the above sauce, 1 tbsp. soy sauce, chili flake and garlic powder and wrapped it all up in a big la tortilla factory tortilla (amazing stats – 90 calories, 3g fat, 13g fiber, and tasty). i am REALLY bad at wrapping, but you get the picture:   

i need to go to wrap college.

 i also enjoyed this with a cup of frozen corn – i have a lot of frozen vegetables from this winter that i’m trying to use up — i don’t want to bring anything (food wise) with me to the new apt. except spices and non perishables. starting fresh! i cleaned and scrubbed the fridge and dishwasher (did you know how hard stainless steel is to clean? because i didn’t.) and also scrubbed away at the downstairs bathroom. i figure if i start the cleaning now, then it will be less overwhelming when the end of the month comes. look at me, being all responsible! for a snack before i got sucked into the finale of top chef masters finale, i had a deep chocolate vitatop with a smear of peanut butter on top – i have really been enjoying the banana nut vitatops as of late and really needed some chocolate in my life, so i picked these up on the way home. they do the trick!   

look how shiny my fridge is!

 well THIS was a long post, so i’ll let you all go now….muahaha. i’m going to a baseball game with a bunch of friends tonight, a nice little thursday treat before the WEEKEND starts! yes, i consider friday the weekend even though i have to work. 

do you guys do a lot of social things during the week, or do you save it for the weekend? i generally see my friends twice during the week — the rest of the time is spent at the gym (when i have my mojo), doing chores and errands, and relaxing! i also live with a friend, so there’s not as much need.

5 responses to “phew.

  1. Love rice cakes, even though I totally feel like a grandma when I eat them.

  2. I don’t favor the weekend over the week when it comes to meeting with friends- we all have such hectic lives, it’s nice to get things in while we can! And I love rice cakes too, though they feel like such “diet food” when I eat them :)

  3. Glad you got your landlord drams settled… hate that.

    I love Fage the best! Here, it’s more expensive than both Oikos and Chobani, so I usually get Chobani (which I also like).

    I try to mix up when I socialize so I don’t get too bored but still have “me time.” I’m most excited to have a date night tonight, because I’m going to be working the whole weekend.

  4. I am all work during the week and then relax on the weekend.
    Glad you got things settled!

  5. Pingback: groundhogs day? « Can I Kick It? (yes, i can).

Leave a Reply

