a step.

howdy-doo! it’s a sunny wednesday morning, which means hump day, the dining section and that the lights in my office are moot.

yesterday was a marathon of a day – i had an appointment, so i arrived to work half an hour late. even though it’s not a big deal, i always feel so rushed when i don’t have time for my regular morning routine. i was starving when i arrived, and i quickly (well that’s a lie, i’m an infamously slow eater) ate this tupperware of goodness:

look at that melted berry juice.

 1/3 cup of oats, 1/2 cup yogurt, 1 tsp chia seeds (!!), frozen strawberries, some golden raisins and a scoop of chunky pb enjoyed with coffee with soymilk. as tony the tiger says, (it was) gggrrrreeeeat! i worked and worked while listening to monsters of folk (they’re great zone out music, enjoyable and catchy but low key) until it was time for almuerzo.

that grapefruit looks like a sliced mango, no?

 half of a grapefruit, a black bean burger with some goat cheese, spinach and broccoli and some ketchup (weird, i know, it needed a lil’ somethin’ somethin’). i smooshed this all up again into another “hash”, and as delicious as it was, i’m excited to almost be done with this batch of veggie burgers. it gets tiring eating the same thing for lunch!

snackadoodle was a bit bigger today, because i had grand plans of running 5 miles after work on the treadmill (ugh, treadmill). green tea for that extra caffeine boost, an apple and 1/4 cup pistachios. i bought these on a whim from the bulk bins the other day, and i forgot how salty and delicious they are!

a bigger snack than usual.

 i got to the gym, ready to go… and then i couldn’t. i don’t know if i was still sore from my previous workouts, but my legs just weren’t moving. i ran about a mile and then moved over to the elliptical. i guess i just was not feeling the gym last night, because i couldn’t do that either. or the bike. sometimes, it’s just not in the cards. i ended up with 30 minutes of mixed cardio and did abs and stretched a lot – not a lost cause! still a workout, and i was drenched in sweat. does this happen to anyone else? it was a lackluster but very, very sweaty workout.

i was determined to not be disappointed in myself and rearranged my training schedule in my head so i could still get my miles in. normally, this “failure” would lead me to say, “well, i blew my workout, might as well eat what i want for dinner!” but it never even went there. all i wanted when i got home was this:

aquaphor is my boyfriend.

a green monster with 1 c. almond milk, 1 frozen banana, ice cubes, scoop chocolate protein powder, 1/2 scoop amazing grass, spinach and some cocoa powder with one cup of puffed rice cereal. i also snacked on a carrot while i was prepping my meals for the next day. this filled me up wonderfully, and i enjoyed the rest of my evening crafting new playlists and painting my nails. i snuggled into bed earlier than usual (11 pm) in hopes that i could get up this morning and run, but it looks like my 5 miles will have to be conquered tonight.

if i could change something about myself (this, among other things), i would make myself a morning person. if you could, what would you change about yourself?

One response to “a step.

  1. Good for you for at least doing SOMETHING at the gym… when I know I’m forcing myself to be there, I usually get so frustrated I just leave.

    I’m trying to keep framing things in positive, glass-half-full kind of ways.

Leave a Reply

