a different kind of cross training.

Sorry for disappearing, y’all! The weekend is……. too precious to spend on the computer.

DC was PUMMELED by a blizzard this weekend, and I’ve been thoroughly enjoying every moment of it. Yesterday, in lieu of wasting time outside to go to the gym to spend 40 minutes on the elliptical, I went to Rock Creek park (DC’s version of Central Park) and sledded, hiked and ran for upwards of 4 hours. I’d say that’s more magical (and way more tiring) than 40 hours spent in a smelly gym.

beayoootiful.

It was liberating to know that I was with my friends having fun while at the same time “working out.” It’s nice to be reminded that taking care of yourself isn’t solely limited to the gym or to runs outside. After a l-o-o-o-ong day in the snow, we dragged our cold weary selves to Kramerbooks, a bustling bookstore and cafe. I had coffee to warm (and wake!) up along with a big bowl of tomato vegetable soup. It was almost like tomato sauce, which is one of my favorite foods, so I was a happy camper. It was served alongside a hunk of cornbread, which I generously shared with Boy roommate #2.

25.2 inches!

After a board game or 5, some makeshift ping pong, snacks, Mario tennis and a movie (yeah, we were up late), it was time to call it a night. So snuggly inside when outside is covered in sparkly snow! I technically shouldn’t have nibbled so much when I got home (hi wasabi peas! and actual peas! and a piece of smoked salmon! etc.) but my meals today weren’t large enough on a normal day, let alone a day when I was running around for 4 hours. I have to learn to fuel myself properly.

Today was supposed to bring a 5 mile run, but all the gyms are closed, so like last week I will mix and match my training plan, but still make sure to get everything in.

Happy SuperBowling, everyone!

Check back tomorrow for an update on my no-sugar-quest, and for a new quest!

One response to “a different kind of cross training.

  1. Was supposed to go to DC, too, but not with all that snow!

Leave a Reply

