the quest.

Happy February! And Monday! But we all know Monday is not as happy.

Woke up to the SUN, and knew today was going to be a good day. Sometimes, very rarely, I get to work off-site. Today was one of those days, and I absolutely love it because it means I can interact with and actually help people from all walks of life for a few hours. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job, but sometimes I feel guilty that I work for “the man.”

Because I woke up late (mmm cozy bed) and I was on the run, I ate breakfast in parts. An apple the size of my face – Braeburn apples were on sale at Whole Foods – and a Peanut Butter and Jelly Larabar. And coffee, duh. A large.

my first larabar ever!

I honestly can now understand the love for the Larabar. Not only did I love the ingredients (dates, peanuts, unsweetened cherries, salt), but I ate it and immediately felt satiated. I was hungry an hour and a half later, because let’s face it I didn’t eat the most filling breakfast, but all in all I was very impressed with this bar and when I become a millionaire, I will buy them all the time. Those puppies are expensive!

DISCLAIMER: I am a walking cliche, so please keep that in mind as you read the following paragraphs.

I’m now unveiling my plan for “Fit February.” January was sort of a rough month emotionally, and it took a toll on my physical self. I am taking back the day! I do really well with short term goals, so along with following my training plan, I’m going to create weekly goals, or quests because that word is just so much cooler.

So! This week (Monday, Feb 1 to Sunday, Feb 7), I am going to try and refrain from eating refined sugar. I have been indulging far too much and not only has my waistline responded, but so has my skin. And I hate pimples. I also think sugar makes me feel very sluggish, and I’m looking forward to reinvigorating myself.  Also, I’m not banning sugar forever because, well, can you imagine?! The Supreme Court would rule that Cruel and Unusual Punishment. Anyone want to join me on quest numero uno?

– in a while, crocodiles.

PS – go holler a hello at Ms. Snackface herself, who is celebrating a very important birthday!

7 responses to “the quest.

  1. eaternotarunner

    I did a week without sugar back in October and it was tough! I could probably use to do it again, I am a sugar addict :-)

  2. I miss the sun!

    That PB&J bar is so, so good.

  3. Good luck with the sugar challenge! I started my blog because of a week-long challenge to eat only unprocessed foods. It’s harder than it sounds!

  4. I don’t know if I could ever eat only processed food, because then I would have to give up Laughing Cow. But I agree, it is way harder than it sounds (but it feels way betta).

  5. Pingback: got a thing for the blue. « Can I Kick It? (yes, i can).

  6. Pingback: the wrap up. « Can I Kick It? (yes, i can).

Leave a Reply

