groundhogs day?

hola chicklettes! i apologize in advance for how similar to yesterday this post is going to be… in the midst of the chaos that is my life (hello packing! and dealing with landlords!), my eats and workouts and hangouts have all been eerily similar. i don’t hate it! 

yesterday morning i was flustered because i got to work late due to a doctor’s appointment. case in point? i went to take a picture of my breakfast (same exact one as yesterday, and now the heart to heart is gone!)  and exasperated myself because i had forgotten my camera. whelp, lunch rolls around, and look what i found sitting in its usual spot on my desk: 

mmmboring.

 no, i did not find 1/2 c. boca crumbles, broccoli and 1/2 c. edamame randomly chilling on my desk, but i did find my camera. wee! work was, work, and i chugged along getting papercuts and yelling at my frozen computer until it was time for my afternoon snack. again, the exact same replica from yesterday — 

why am i so predictable?

 i was hungry again about 45 minutes later (that would be due to my light light lunch, thankyouverymuch), so i munched on some almonds. 

hungry again.

  i hopped out of work around 6:30 and headed to the gym to continue my love affair with the arc trainer. i used to spend hours on this thing back in the day, but then just abandoned it completely, our hopes and dreams dashed. i recently rediscovered what a great workout it can provide — it’s more strenuous for me than the elliptical, i get too bored on the stationary bike (because i bike in real life, and nothing can compare), and i don’t like to run everyday. don’t even get me started on the stairmaster, because i die every time i look at one of those things (even though i frequently use them in 15 minute spurts). ANYWAY. i busted out 30 hard minutes on the “weight loss” program,  level 5. i chose this program over the interval program merely because the intervals are longer and it’s harder for me that way…. and by the way, yes, i was embarrased and covered the program selection with my gym towel. i then did 20 minutes of really good stretching/yoga and called it a day. felt great! i finally have my mojo back.   

dinner was, err, interesting. i didn’t feel like pressing tofu (i was too hungry! it takes me forever.  i need one of these!) so i scrouned around for something edible…and ended up with savory oats. 

yummy sludge.

 1/2 c. oats with double the water for more volume, 1 tsp chia seeds, 1 laughing cow wedge, broccoli, 1 serving turkey pepperoni, 1 tbsp nooch. all enjoyed whilst watching the real housewives of new york reunion, part 2. i’m behind on my pop culture, gah! out of nowhere last night, i was a productive polly. i showered, lotioned and then set to packing my clothes. while watching an episode of alias (my all time favorite show, in the world, was obsessed with it in high school and have taken to rewatching the series), i emptied, folded and packed my bureau contents away, leaving outfits out for the rest of the week. who am i, and what have i done with lazy weeknight samantha?! julia came home late, bearing gifts…..a cable to hook up our computers to the television! you bet your bottom we bought twilight and started watching late. a movie snack was a must:  

repeat offender.

  chocolate/PB2 protein cake. i’m almost out of my PB2 stash –  found it in a store in nyc – sad face! it’s great to make peanutty sauces with, especially since i have been out of peanut butter itself for 2 weeks. i also snacked on two rice cakes – i was a hungry one last night. we watched about half of twilight (underwhelmed, though i now understand why everyone thinks robert pattinson is so hot. helllllooo, edward!). 

BED. i needed it last night. 

OH – and here is the album of the day…been listening to it all morning, and am pretty sure i’m going to be listening to it all day: Keane’s Perfect Symmetry. Just Do It. (especially “You Haven’t Told Me Anything”)

what is your favorite album/band as of late? i recently started listening to k-os, which is out of the norm for me as i’m more of an indie girl, but i like the beat!

7 responses to “groundhogs day?

  1. Er, sometimes I only “press” the tofu for a few minutes while I’m prepping the other ingredients. Hey, it’s better than nothing!

    I recently saw The Canon Logic play with Ari a few weeks ago and their song “Avenue of Criminals” has been in my head ever since.

  2. thehungryscholar

    I’ve been listening to Of Montreal a lot, because I’m in a witty mood.

    Love the blog. Glad I found it. I love your writing style and wit!

  3. Yay for being back in your workout groove!

  4. I’ve been listening to St. Vincent and I’m now in love with her!

Leave a comment